Compressors.....with Poll

Discussion in 'Your Music' started by RIP, Dec 6, 2017.

?

Do you use Compressors....

1. Always

6 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Sometimes

4 vote(s)
    33.3%
  3. Never

2 vote(s)
    16.7%
  1. RIP

RIP California U.S.A. Supporting Member

Do you use them some of the time, all the time, never?

Why or why not?

Note, I’m hoping we will all be civil and respectful……sometimes these conversations can get ugly

2. Augie

Augie The Desert Bass-ape

Never but I need one! probably as an end-of-chain-limiter. I tend to stack pedals and the sound guys tend to dislike the spikes a wah(with boost)+fuzz+distortion creates...hopefully I can get some tips from this thread.

RIP likes this.
  3. RIP

RIP California U.S.A. Supporting Member

When I started playing 35 years ago, they were not really popular. So I've pretty much never really used them until doing solo slap recordings (which I've posted here). I probably need them on all my recordings but on the slap stuff especially when switching from fingers to the slap technique I really could hear the spikes.....so I voted sometimes

4. 3alfa3

3alfa3

I dont play live, just in my House and through Headphones. Still, i always use Compressor (transparent one).
    But i use moderate Compression (Compression range between -1 and -6db).
    The rest of the settings as shown in the picture. IMAG2030.jpg

jester and RIP like this.
  5. Hardy

Hardy Good Vibe Sponsor

I have an EBS Multicomp on my pedal board. Always switched off. Still I am willing to try to understand its benefits one day. ;)

RIP likes this.
  6. jester

jester Moderator Moderator